Stepping into the Scene, Panel by Panel

25 Sep

This is my first official post on indiedoodle, so I guess it’s only appropriate to say hi first, so…

HELLO EVERYONE AND WELCOME TO INDIEDOODLE.WORDPRESS.COM!

The main reason why I wanted to kickstart something like indiedoodle is simple really. At the risk of sounding cheesy, here’s a quote that I hold as my personal motto:

‘Be the change you want to see in the world.’ – Mahatma Gandhi

When I first became active in the local doujinshi (or, if you prefer, independent comics) scene back in 2003, I started to realize the severe lack of information and coverage for comic events and comic-related stuff in Malaysia. Since there weren’t that many events being organized back then, this void was still bearable. Now, as more and more ACG (Anime, Comic, and Game) events are being held throughout Malaysia, I found that I needed a place where I could gather my thoughts on each of them, a separate place from my personal blog. What really gave me the push to create this blog was the fact that the Malaysian Indie Comic/Doujinshi scene is given very little coverage in our local media. I wanted to be able to give ample limelight to the people involved in the local comic scene, be it comic artists, doujinshi groups, and so on. Basically, I wanted to just blog about anything comic-related that might be of interest to the community in general.

Thus, with this in mind, indiedoodle was born.

So, in a nutshell, I hope indiedoodle can serve as a blog where people (especially Malaysians) can be informed about upcoming comics events in Malaysia and read post-event coverage reports, as well as stumble upon notable local talents or comic resources and maybe find out a tip or two about comics from people who have been there and done that.

I don’t claim to be a know-it-all when it comes to all-things related to the local comic scene and I doubt that I can attend all comic events hosted throughout Malaysia. As such, I humbly welcome anyone who has a passion for comics in Malaysia to lend me their aid in helping to keep this blog updated with the latest information possible. If you have any feedback or suggestions, or maybe just want to inform indiedoodle about any interesting comic-thingies worth covering, you can send them to jlloh86@gmail.com

Having said all that, I hope you’ll enjoy everything indiedoodle has to offer.

Keep on doodling!

2 Responses to “Stepping into the Scene, Panel by Panel”

  1. Brian September 26, 2008 at 1:12 pm #

    And welcome to WordPress!

  2. Sapphire January 25, 2009 at 6:01 pm #

    I’m rooting for ya and if I have any additional information, I will give it to you.

Leave a Reply

