Miao & WafuPafu

28 May

I did some Googling recently (a.k.a Typing ‘Malaysian Comics’ into Google and see what comes up) and found something interesting: Miao & WafuPafu, Jian Goh’s comic blog.

The blog features Miao, his alter ego, going about his daily life, with appearances of his friends and pets in animal form (duh!). Some of you might have even heard of him from the WWOW Contest joinly organised by Mudah.my and Digi where he’s vying for the Best Humour Blog.

“How did I get into comics? Hmm..Well, everything started from blogging, it was an assignment for a subject where we need to blog for a whole semester. Eventually, I got hooked and continued to blog.”

Lucky for me, Jian agreed to do an interview with me via e-mail, so here you go!

Mind telling us about yourself?

My name is Jian Goh but nowadays most people call me Miao these days due to my comic character. I’m a 26 years old tom cat from Kuching, Sarawak and currently working as an engineer in Melaka.

 

So, how did you get into comics? Also, why Miao?

How did I get into comics? Hmm..Well, everything started from blogging, it was an assignment for a subject where we need to blog for a whole semester. Eventually, I got hooked and continued to blog.

Ever since I was young, I loved to draw; I would doodle all over my textbooks during classes. So when I first start to blog, I created a character of Miao for it, to represent me and to illustrate the stories I blogged. Back then, there were no comic strips at all, only words, photos and illustrations of Miao.

 

What made you want to progress from illustrations of Miao into a sequential narrative/comic?

One day, I wanted to blog about this incident I encountered but I did not have any photos for it (I don’t like word only posts) , so I made a comic strip for it and the readers seem to like it pretty much. I made a couple more comic strips and all of them received very good response too. Eventually, I decided to close down my old blog and start a comic blog on my own domain.

 

This might seem out of place but…why a cat?

I’m a cat-lover and I’m from Cat-city, so a cat is the best choice to illustrate and it’s modeled over my first orange tabby cat.

 

What about Wafu and Pafu (the hamsters)?

The creation of Wafu and Pafu in the other hand was inspired by my readers. They were my hamsters which I blogged about a couple of times and the readers love them a lot and probably more than my Miao. Hahaha… So I ended up making them regulars to my comic which came the name and the comic blog of ‘Miao & WafuPafu’.

 

You’ve gotta admit, making comics for a blog is pretty new, especially from a Malaysian perspective! Any plans in the pipeline for turning your online strips into a comic book?

Well, it seems like instead of making comics for a blog, it’s more like blogging in comics. Hehehe… I’m somehow glad about that too as I think it’s easier to get it promoted and recognized by people through the internet. But still, I do hope that one day I can get them printed into a book. It’s a different feeling to hold your hard works and creations in your own paws.

 

So people, do head on down to Miao & WafuPafu to read his cutesy musings about life and if you like what you see, please vote for him in the contest through Facebook (Here’s on how to do it, hahaha!)

Leave a Reply

