Info Bites: Spera Volume 1

13 Jan

Hey guys and girls, I know that I probably should be following up with the next part of the Comic Fiesta 2011 Loot Review, but I just couldn’t help but promote Spera Volume 1 after I remembered that it should’ve been out by now – and I was right!

 


Spera Volume 1 Cover (source)

Spera is an on-going story written, created and editted by Josh Tierney, who has enlisted various artists around the world to help make his visions come to life – in the form of graphic novels. As I’ve not read Spera before (yet!), I think it’s only fair that I use the ‘official’ excerpt for the book to give you an idea of the story:

Lono’s life as a princess consisted of sitting, reading, and dreaming—until the day Pira, princess of a neighboring kingdom, arrived with news of a waking nightmare! With the help of Pira’s best friend—a fire spirit in the form of a dog named Yonder—the princesses now find themselves in a race against evil. The goal: Spera, a magical realm of which the princesses had only ever heard the tallest tales. The prize: their very lives!

This book deserves your attention because it contains a comic by one of our very own up-and-coming Malaysian talents, Hwei! If you’ve not heard of her (which is impossible if you’ve been keeping an eye on this blog as I’ve mentioned her work before in my review of Hawk in my Comic Fiesta 2011 Loot), she won 2nd place in the inaugural Morning International Manga Competition (MIMC) back in 2007 with her entry, Vefurrin. And if that’s not enough to make you sit up and take notice, her work was recently (and I mean as recent as 36 hours ago) featured on Comic Book Resources. Plus, come on, it’s not everyday that you can say that somebody you know has their work published alongside Emily Carroll (yes, she’s in Spera too)!

I do intend to sit her down sometime soon and hopefully squeeze an interview out of her but until then, I shall leave you with an interview she had back in 2008 with The Star.

Do get the book if you can from a bookstore close to you, or just order it from Amazon.

3 Responses to “Info Bites: Spera Volume 1”

  1. Midnightveil February 29, 2012 at 10:17 am #

    Heyya Max,

    FYI ArtMalaysia Magazine has quite an extensive interview with Hwei in its latest issue 17, plus an exclusive comic too. Do check it out ; )

    • Max February 29, 2012 at 1:54 pm #

      Hi Nikki! Is it available in Singapore though? I couldn’t find the older issues at the usual MyNews outlets and bookstores I frequent in Malaysia either! Could you perhaps keep me a copy and pass it to Ezel? Thanks! =)

      • Midnightveil February 29, 2012 at 4:25 pm #

        Haha not in Sg i’m afraid. We stock in Kino, Borders, MPH, Popular, Times but not in MyNews! Sure will keep a copy for you.

        Weird when you call me other than Li Sian =P

Leave a Reply

